The Kendal & District Bowling League

2024 Annual General Meeting Minutes

Held at Netherfield Cricket Club on Monday, 29 January from 7:30pm

In Attendance / Apologies

Officers of the league attended the meeting as follows: Colin Haworth (Chairman), Steve Cornell (Vice-Chair), Alan Gilpin (Secretary) and Mary West (Treasurer).

Representatives from 26 member clubs attended the meeting, with apologies being received from Allithwaite and Crosthwaite.

Chairman's Welcome / Address

Colin Haworth thanked those in attendance for representing their clubs tonight and asked that we start the meeting with a minutes' silence be held in remembrance for those who we have lost since our November 2022 AGM, which Alan Gilpin read out as follows:

Abbot Hall:	Norman Nevinson
Arnside:	Graeme Smith
Burton-in-Kendal:	Jenny Taylor
Endmoor:	Dawn Ridgway and Terry Swindlehurst
Hawkshead:	Geoff Harrison and Billy Stobbart
Holme:	Caroline Schofield
Kirkby Lonsdale:	Bill Packham
Langdale:	Keith Ives
Levens:	Paul Huggonson
Lindale:	John McCormick
Netherfield:	Mal Barker, David Colloby and Russ Draper
Sedbergh:	Keith Sanders
Staveley:	Dave Dutton, Helen Mitchinson, Ian Stansfield and Colin Steele
Victoria:	Bob Newby and Doris Sharpe
Windermere:	Betty Eastham, Chris Goodwin, Keith Jones and Alan Wareing

Minutes of Previous Meetings

The minutes of the 2022 AGM can be found on our website, and a link was provided with the agenda for clubs to review before this meeting. It was proposed that they be a true record of that meeting by Heversham, seconded by Victoria and accepted by all. There were no matters arising from those minutes.

Treasurer's Report / Financial Accounts

Mary West has prepared the financial accounts for 2022/23, and proposed no change to subscription fees from clubs for 2024. Each club has already had their fee notices and cheques can be accepted after the meeting.

Colin Haworth asked whether the accounts could be accepted by member clubs, which was proposed by Netherfield, seconded by Burneside and passed unanimously.

Election of League Officers

President – Alan Gilpin proposed that Colin Haworth take over the previously vacant Presidential position, which was seconded by Victoria and agreed by all.

Chairperson – With Colin Haworth moving to President, Alan Gilpin proposed that Steve Cornell move from Vice to Chair, which was seconded by Abbot Hall and agreed by all.

Vice chair – position vacant, with no nominations. Alan Gilpin asked clubs to go back and think if anyone would like to take this position, as even unelected, they could join the executive committee this year to learn more about the role.

Secretary – Alan Gilpin happy to continue, which was agreed by all.

Treasurer – Mary West happy to continue, which was agreed by all.

Online Administrator – Danny Conroy happy to continue, which was agreed by all.

County Representatives – Colin Haworth and Alan Gilpin are both happy to continue representing our league at County meetings, which was agreed by all.

Super 32

Hale are set to host the Super 32 on Sunday, 31 March 2024, and a list of initial qualifiers was given to each club. Alan Gilpin stated that is up to clubs to make sure that their players attended, or let him know if they cannot or do not wish to take part.

Championship Events

Arnside, Bowness, Heversham, Kirkby Lonsdale, Levens, Netherfield and Sedbergh have put themselves forward to host a Championship Event at the end of 2024. Alan Gilpin confirmed that the League's Executive Committee will discuss and agree which club will host which division once the fixtures have been published.

Future League Placings / Teams Expected for 2024

Lindale C had withdrawn before the 2023 season due to lack of players, but they now feel that they are able to field 3 teams in the coming season, so have asked to rejoin. This was agreed unanimously.

Coniston applied to join the league as a new member club, but then had to withdraw that request.

Ambleside have requested to disband their B team from division 2, due to lack of players.

Alan Gilpin stated following the above, the league will have 66 teams in 2024. He has been speaking with our results website contact and it is possible to have three divisions of 12 then three divisions of 10 where their season starts 2 weeks later and finishes 2 weeks sooner, meaning no byes. A graphic has been provided showing how this effects promotions and relegations, in order to transition from 2023 to 2024. Windermere stated that this was an excellent development, as their D team would prefer a late start and no byes.

All clubs agreed to move forward into 2024 with the structure proposed.

Notices of Motion for the Annual General Meeting

Proposal from the League's Executive Committee:

The adoption of the amalgamated rules for the league, as per the attached document. Alan Gilpin explained that draft rules were sent to clubs way back in September and nobody had come forward with any suggestions to improve, or complaints at that time. He added that this had only happened after a two-year consultation process by the league's executive committee and that it has been done so that there is now one set of rules to cover everything the league does. He thanked Staveley for putting forward their proposal on start times and lights, which had been agreed by the executive committee and adopted in these rules, but that if the new rules are not accepted, then there would be an alternative notice of motion to hear from Staveley about start times of matches during the dimmer nights at each end of the season.

Colin Haworth asked if there was a seconder to the new amalgamated rules being put up for adoption, which was done by Netherfield. A vote was taken, with just 1 against the vote was carried and the new rules were adopted.

Colin Haworth asked if there was any other business (which there was not), then closed the meeting at 8pm.