Kendal & District Bowling League


The Kendal & District Bowling League was formed in 1957 for crown green bowling (originally 10) clubs in Kendal and the surrounding villages to compete in teams of 8 players across two divisions on a Tuesday evening. 

From the 1983 season, Abbot Hall Bowling Club became the first club to add a ‘C’ team, with the league members agreeing that clubs could from then enter up to four teams each, with playing nights including Thursdays. 

By 1988, the league numbers were up to 26 teams from 12 clubs and the then league secretary, Maria Gilpin, proposed an increase to three divisions. The league continued to grow with new clubs applying for membership to the league, and new teams’ year-on-year until a fourth division was added in 1996 during Steve Beattie’s time as league secretary. 


Denise Noble was appointed the new league secretary from 2003 and during her 15 years in the role the league grew to six divisions strong and also from 2008 you were able to view results each week via a league website. Denise moved this forward with the MB Bowls Results Website from 2013, allowing captains to enter and check their own results, as well as viewing detailed live league and merit standings through the course of the season. 

In 2016, the league reached its’ full capacity with 72 teams from 26 different clubs, with 576 players competing each and every week competitively during the 22-week league season.

The Kendal & District Bowling League continues to provide competitive bowls across the local area, spanning now across 29 clubs (the largest league structure in Cumbria) with 6 divisions, 6 end-of-season championship events, 2 cup competitions and the Super 32 event that debuted in 2014 following a proposal from then Treasurer, now League Secretary, Alan Gilpin.